Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

You are here: ARS Home / Collaborating / Office of Technology Transfer / Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)

Related Topics

Office of Technology Transfer (OTT)
headline bar
1 - Introduction
2 - Administration & Partnerships Section
3 - Patenting Section
4 - Licensing Section
5 - Technology Transfer Annual Reports
6 - Available Technologies
7 - Awards
8 - OTT Training
Patenting Section

The Patent Section provides strategic guidance to scientists regarding patent protection for their research results. The Section is also responsible for receiving invention reports, convening three National Patent Committees (Mechanical and Measurement, Life Sciences, and Chemistry), preparing and prosecuting patent applications, and reviewing patent legal work performed by cooperator and ARS contract law firms.

Patent Resources

Search Engine Links:

 USPTO website:    http://www.uspto.gov/
 World Intellectual Property Office website:  http://patentscope.wipo.int/search/en/search.jsf
 Google Scholar:   http://scholar.google.com/
 Google Patents website:  http://www.google.com/?tbm=pts&hl=en

George Washington Carver Center
5601 Sunnyside Avenue
Beltsville, Maryland 20705

Supervisory Patent Advisor

Gail Poulos
Gail.Poulos@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-5302
(Supports South Atlantic Area scientists)


Patent Advisors

G. Byron Stover
Byron.Stover@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4783
(Supports Beltsville Area scientists)


Evelyn Rabin
Evelyn.Rabin@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4781
(Supports North Atlantic Area and Mid South Area scientists)


Robert Jones
Robert.Jones@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-7270
(Supports South Atlantic Area scientists


David Marks
David.Marks@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4619


Legal Administrative Specialists

Robin McCormick, Senior Legal Administrative Specialist
Robin.McCormick@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-6532


Kelli Gantt, Legal Administrative Specialist
Kelli.Gantt@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-7269


Claudia Hedrick, Legal Administrative Specialist
Claudia.Reynolds@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (301) 504-4887


National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research
1815 North University Street
Peoria, Illinois 61604

Albert Tsui, Patent Advisor
Albert.Tsui@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (309) 681-6512 
(Supports Midwest Area and Northern Plains Area scientists)


Legal Administrative Specialist
Sheri Whitehurst, Senior Legal Administrative Specialist
Sheri.Whitehurst@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (309) 681 6513

Western Regional Research Center
800 Buchanan Street
Albany, California 94710

Patent Advisors
Elizabeth (Beth) Sampson
Elizabeth.Sampson@ars.usda.gov
(Supports Pacific West Area scientists)
Phone: (510) 559-6067


Howard Owens
Howard.Owens@ars.usda.gov
(Supports Pacific West Area scientists)
Phone: (510) 559-5731


Legal Administrative Specialist
Sonya Domingo, Senior Legal Administrative Specialist
Sonya.Domingo@ars.usda.gov
Phone: (510) 559-6067

<< Previous    1     2     [3]     4     5     6     7     8     Next >>

Last Modified: 4/22/2014
Footer Content Back to Top of Page