Page Banner

United States Department of Agriculture

Agricultural Research Service

Related Topics


Research Staff


 Dr. Thomas Rinderer

Dr. Thomas E. Rinderer is the Research Leader and a Research Geneticist.  He joined the laboratory in 1975. He has conducted a variety of research on Africanized bees, honey bee behavior and genetics, honey production and Russian honey bees resistant to Varroa destructor (varroa mites). Currently he is examining Russian honey bee resistance to varroa mites for measurements that could be used to select for resistance in other stocks of honey bees.

Phone (225) 767-9280, 767-9281. E-mail: tom.rinderer@ars.usda.gov


 

Dr. Katherine A. Aronstein is a Research Molecular Biologist. She has studied immunity of honey bees.  She was involved in the honey bee genome sequencing project to identify immunity-related genes, and was the primary researcher that sequenced the genomes of the pathogens that cause chalkbrood disease and American Foulbrood.  Her current research is aimed at finding and selecting specific traits of honey bee larvae associated with resistance to pathogens.

 

Phone (225) 767-9284.  E-mail: kate.aronstein@ars.usda.gov


 Dr. Lanie Bilodeau

Dr. A. Lelania Bourgeois is a Research Molecular Biologist. Her primary interests are pathogen detection and gene identification for disease resistance.  She has developed genetic detection assays for Nosema ceranae and Nosema apis, markers for stock identification of Russian honey bees and identified genetically-based resistance to Nosema spp.  She is currently examining and identifying genes associated with sub-family-based resistance to Nosema spp.


Phone (225) 767-9288. E-mail: lanie.bourgeois@ars.usda.gov


Dr. Robert G. Danka is a Research Entomologist.  His primary interests are honey bee behavior and pollination.  He has led studies on behavior and management of Africanized honey bees, honey bee behavior related to crop pollination, and genetic resistance of honey bees to tracheal and varroa mites.  Current efforts are aimed at increasing our understanding of resistant honey bees, and fostering adoption of resistant honey bees by beekeepers.  

Phone (225) 767-9294. E-mail: bob.danka@ars.usda.gov


 Dr. Lilia De Guzman

Dr. Lilia I. de Guzman is a Research Entomologist. She has studied varroa and tracheal mite resistance of Yugoslavian and Russian bees.  Her current focus is grooming behavior by Russian honey bees against varroa mites, and finding methods that reduce the impact of small hive beetles in honey bee colonies.

Phone (225) 767-9282. E-mail: lilia.deguzman@ars.usda.gov


Dr. Matt R. Tarver is a Research Geneticist.  His current research focuses on understanding pathogen response in honey bees.  He is screening various stocks of honey bees to identify those with enhanced resistance or tolerance to deformed wing virus.  Additionally, he is interested in studying small hive beetle physiology that will lead to new chemical mechanisms of control and are safe for the honey bee.

Phone (225) 767-9291. E-mail: matt.tarver@ars.usda.gov


 Dr. Jose Villa

Dr. José Villa is a Research Entomologist.  He has studied Africanized and feral European honey bees, the impact of parasitic mites and Nosema spp on colonies, and genetic resistance to varroa and tracheal mites in various stocks.  His current research centers on selecting honey bees with brood that reduces the reproduction of varroa mites, comparing the grooming activities of workers against varroa and tracheal mites, and validating possible genetic markers for resistance traits.

Phone (225) 767-9293. E-mail: jose.villa@ars.usda.gov


Technical Staff

Biological technicians at the laboratory assist in all aspects of conducting research. Work activities take place both in the field and in laboratory, and in many different places - in Baton Rouge, at other U.S. locations and in foreign countries.  The technical staff are:

Ms. Lorraine D. Beaman, genetic markers for disease resistant research.
Phone (225) 767-9295. E-mail: lorraine.beaman@ars.usda.gov

Ms. Deanna Colby, disease resistant research.
Phone (225) 767-9284. E-mail: deanna.colby@ars.usda.gov 

Mr. Bob L. Cox, honey bee management research.
Phone (225) 767-9294. E-Mail: bob.cox@ars.usda.gov

Mr. Garrett E. Dodds, studies of varroa-resistant honey bees.
Phone (225) 767-9290.  E-mail: garrett.dodds@ars.usda.gov

Mr. David F. Dodge, studies of varroa–resistant honey bees.
Phone (225) 767-9283. E-mail: david.dodge@ars.usda.gov

Ms. Amanda M. Frake ("Mandy"), Russian honey bee research.
Phone (225) 767-9298.  E-mail: mandy.frake@ars.usda.gov

Ms. Sharon L. O'Brien, Russian honey bee research.
Ohone (225) 767-9280.  E-mail: sharon.obrien@ars.usda.gov

Mr. Victor P. Rainey, research on mite resistance.
Phone (225) 767-9284. E-mail: victor.rainey@ars.usda.gov

Mr. J. Anthony Stelzer ("Tony"), Russian honey bee research.
Phone (225) 202-6131. E-mail: tony.stelzer@ars.usda.gov

Mr. Philip Tokarz, genetic markers for disease reistance research.
Phone (225) 767-9286. E-mail: philip.tokarz@ars.usda.gov

Mr. Joshua W. Wales ("Josh"), Russian honey bee research and stock management.
Phone (225) 767-9296.  E-mail: joshua.wales@ars.usda.gov

Ms. Rachel P. Watts, disease resistance research.
Phone (225) 767-9286. E-mail: rachel.watts@ars.usda.gov

Mr. Daniel D. Winfrey ("Dan"), studies of honey bees.
Phone (225) 767-9287. E-mail: daniel.winfrey@ars.usda.gov


Ms. Sandra Hineman, ("Sandy"), Program Support Assistant and in-house administrative functions.
Phone (225) 767-9280.  E-mail: sandy.hineman@ars.usda.gov


Biological Aides contribute to achieving the research mission in a variety of ways - clerical, data entry, lab work and field crew.  They are:

  Michael Carruth  
  James King
  Alyzza Prudente

  John West 


Back to Top


Last Modified: 6/3/2014